General info

Kyrgyzstan is located in Central Asia; there are neighboring countries Kazakhstan on the north, Uzbekistan on the west, Tadjikistan on the south and China on its East and South-East. The former Republic of the Soviet Union became independent in 1991and since then is a democratic Presidential Republic. The country has about 6 million inhabitants and an area of 198.500 km2   and  Bishkek, former name was Frunze, is the capital with about 1 million inhabitants.

Bishkek - 74( East (Similar to New Delhi).

Bishkek - 42( North Similar to Istanbul, Madrid, New York. 

Highest - 7437 m - Peak Pobeda
Lowest - 401 m - The Laikal district in the Ferghana Valley
Average - 2750 m
Bishkek - 750 m 
93% of Kyrgyzstan higher than 1500 m above sea level, and 41% above 3000m. 

198,500 sq. km (76641 sq. miles)
Similar to England and roughly equal to the combined areas of Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands.
925 km East-West: 453 km North-South 
The total length of Kyrgyzstan's borders is 4508 km.

Neighbouring Countries 
China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan. 

5 million 
density - 24 per sq. km    
38% - urban, 62% - rural
51% - female, 49% - male
Approximately one sixth of the population lives in Bishkek.
The Kyrgyz make up just over 50% of the population - of the over 70 other nationalities the major ones are:     
The Russians (17%), Uzbeks (13%), Ukrainians, Germans and Tartars.
40% of the population is under 14 years old and 8% of the population is over 60 years old
Shortly after Independence there was large-scale emigration of ethic Russians and Germans in response to the decline of industrial job opportunities and growing Kyrgyz nationalism.

Muslim (Sunni), and Russian Orthodox.

State - Kyrgyz.  Official - Russian, (In common use especially in the capital and Northern region).

Life Expectancy 
In 1995: Male: 63.9 - Female: 72.6

The Kyrgyz Parliament ("Jogorku Kenesh") has a single chamber, of 75 members.
(Since Independence - the organization of the Jogorku Kenesh has been changed several times - sometime with a single chamer, and at others with two: the Legislative Assembly (Lower House, 60 members) and the Assembly of People's Representatives (Upper House, 45 members))
Elected by a popular vote every 5 years.

National symbols:
Flag, Emblem.

Administrative structure: 
The Republic is divided into 8 administrative districts, the 7 regions ("oblasts"):
Chu Oblast,
Issyk-Kul Oblast,
Talas Oblast,
Naryn Oblast,
Osh Oblast,
Djalal-Abad Oblast,
Batken Oblast,
and the capital district of Bishkek.
The oblasts are in turn subdivided into 39 rayons (counties). Bishkek has 4 rajone. The rayons consist of a total of 429 local communities (Ail okmotu).

Membership of international organizations: 
United Nations (and its specialized agencies such as UNDP, UNESCO, UNICEF, UNIDO, UNHCR), IOM, WHO, FAO, ILO; CIS, GIS, Central Asian Economic Community, ECO, World Bank, IMF, EBRD, IDB, ICAO, OECD, OSCE, Intelsat, WTO - World Trade Organization, WTO World Tourism Organization, Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO). 
We are glad to provide you useful information about Kyrgyzstan: 
History of Tien Shan Mountains in Kyrgyzstan   
Kyrgyz traditional drinks     
Peak Khan Tengri
Dungan mosque