Kyrgyzstan geography

Kyrgyzstan is a mountainous country. The mountains are considered to begin at the altitude of 1500 m. a. s. l. And 94 % of Kyrgyzstan territory lies above 1000 m. a. s. l. and 71 % above 2000 m. There are over 88 major mountain ranges in Kyrgyzstan. The arms of two great mountain ranges embrace over 90 % of the country: the Tian Shan (Celestial mountains) stretch from east to west, and Pamir Mountain range to southern Kyrgyzstan. Over 30 per cent of the country is blanked in permanent snow and ice, which doesn't melt already at the altitude of 3600 m. a. s. l. 

2/3 of the Tian Shan range lies in the territory of Kyrgyzstan; another part crosses the border of Kazakhstan. Tian Shan is a Chinese name of the mountains. In Kyrgyz language it sounds like Ala-Too. The written sources about Kyrgyzstan and its nation appeared firsthand in China, where Chinese called our mountains like Tian Shan. It is usually separated on Northern, Western, Eastern, Central and Inner ranges. The Pamirs are found in the South of the country.



Welcome to Kyrgyzstan!